3D Realisation – Design Ideas (18/10/13)

I was sat in my room Friday night, drinking a few beers, and a sudden wave of ideas just overwhelmed me, I had to write my ideas down.

At first it was Keywords and writing notes next to them:

  • Dragon: Scales, wings, fire, claws, teeth
  • Creature: Ugly, scary, unnatural
  • Abomination: Hideous, extra limbs, dis figuration
  • Deformed: Abnormal, limbs, crooked
  • Warped: Twisted, bent, folded

After these ideas ceased I started to thing about my 3D project. As I am doing creature design I decided that what I should do is take animals and insects from the real world and apply those ideas and keywords to them. Here is a list of the things I got: (Subject to Change)

  1. Insects & Bugs: Beetles, Butterflies, Worms, Caterpillars, Cockroaches, Spiders, Dragonflies, Wasps
  2. Animals: Cats, Dogs, Horses, Goats, Pigs, Monkeys, Badgers, Lions, Tigers, Eagles, Birds, Fish

Some of the list are very vague even to myself who made the notes so I decided to elaborate

  1. Cats: Lions, Tigers, Ocelot,
  2. Dogs: Wolf, Rottweiler, Dobermann, Siberian Husky,
  3. Fish: (Amphibious) Sharks, Crocodiles,

After the elaboration on animals I turned my attention to the Environment and Animation

Animation:

From Latin animātiō, “the act of bringing to life”; from animō (“to animate” or “give life to”) and -ātiō (“the act of”).

Taken from the Wikipedia Etymology

I am in the process of designing creatures and will be posting my results soon.

One thought on “3D Realisation – Design Ideas (18/10/13)”

Leave a Reply

