Photoshop – Basic Colouring and Tools (9/12/13)

Today we have been shown a list of blogs and work we should have been doing over the past month. This is an area I have been neglecting and will be revisiting a lot more often, primarily due to the fact that Photoshop is one of the primary tools I will be using during my time on this course and even after, so why wait to get used to it and become more adept at the software.

With this in mind I decided to get stuck into my dragon logo and revisit it, after about an hour to an hour and a half I managed to produce this

Dragon Logo Inked with fine liner and white gel pen
Dragon Logo Inked with fine liner and white gel pen

Really happy with my results I decided to scan it into the computer and take it into Photoshop for a bit of work and tweaking, after reacquainting myself with some of the more basic tools i got stuck in and used the basic brush tool to add some base colour to my dragon, then making a copy of the layer i played around with the combination of the blending mode and used the burn tool to add some shade, this is my result.

Coloured in photoshop using only basic tools
Coloured in photoshop using only basic tools

I will be testing out some character designing using a graphics tablet and the pencil tool on Photoshop shortly.

One thought on “Photoshop – Basic Colouring and Tools (9/12/13)”

Leave a Reply

