3D Realisation – Topology

So we was introduced into the world of topology last week, after a week of research and struggling to understand what this term means, a fellow student “Jason Pook” linked me to a site that explained it better than all the rest.

Topology – Definition

 

The word topology refers to the geometric surface characteristics of a 3D object.

 

Modelers strive for “clean” topology, typically illustrated by a 3D mesh with efficient polygon distribution, proper placement of polygonal edge-loops, few or no triangular faces (as opposed to 4-sided “quads”), and clean precise creases that minimize stretching and distortion.

http://3d.about.com/od/Glossary-T/g/Topology.htm

So as a part of our session we was set a task to find 3 pictures and draw our own topology over them. We was asked to do so using only Straight lines, Not curved ones and only using the “Quad Polygons” mentioned above.

The 3 pictures we was asked to look for were: A pre 1980’s Family Saloon Car, An old Leather Couch and A Bust of Somebody Famous.

For the pre 1980’s Family Saloon Car I chose a Ford Granada and drew my topology over that. Unfortunately I made a mistake in that I didn’t save the Photoshop .psd file and I saved the picture with the image in the background, (We was asked to not have the image in the background of the Topology) but here is my original with my finished product.

Ford GranadaFord Granada WireFrame

My next task to attempt was an Old worn Leather Sofa, Again I made a few mistakes and got lazy when it came to the back rest of the chair but I attempted to make up for that in the next 1

Old Worn Leather Couch (2)Old Worn Leather Couch

 

Finally we have the bust of somebody famous, I attempted this one last because I knew it would be the hardest of the lot to finish, but I really enjoyed doing it. The person I chose was Jason Momoa, I chose an image of him in the TV Series “Game Of Thrones”. I know that the topology isn’t perfect, but in the future I will strive for perfection.

Jason Momoa (2)Jason Momoa

 

I really enjoyed this exercise and I know that knowing how Topology works, not only will i become a better 3D Modeller, but also better at drawing.

Leave a Reply

